Never fear, my dear.
I hear your subtext
loud and clear.

You have run ahead of yourself, yes?
“How could one keep up with The Best?”

Spinning and dancing-
all winning and chancing-
to step into that brilliant light
to devour the Abysmal,
that endless night.

“If there’s a motherfucker that can:”
Look no further than this Electric Man.

“I dare you to find me
another soul to define me.
Bring me this imposter
his palsied thoughts to foster.

And if, by chance,
I’ve met my match,
I’ll be the first to rewrite Empire.

And if, by chance,
I’ve met my match,
I’ll be the first to walk through Fire.”

Oh, never fear, my dear.
I hear your challenge
loud and clear.

Your match
is rattling
the bars of her cage.

Coaxed aflame
by a strike
of dragon’s rage.

And if you think
she has not already
swallowed
the same gravity
you drink
then you are more
than welcome
to slink
back into the same Cave
which birthed
the serpents
who landed me here-

clink.

Keys in locks.
Bars slide open.

Fingers curl around metal,
as curls
and curves
and courage
tumble in a tidal wave,
a sea of flames,
swimming in flecks of gold,
flooding the world
beyond the iron behind her.

Your match
is not spent with one strike.

Leave a Reply

