So it’s there, my homage’s due.

I have always admired New York:
“The Empire State.”
An entire kingdom of dizzying duality-
for me she was always this:

leather before noon
draft latte
dripping into cold brew
chipped gold nail polish
clutching at vintage, ivory luggage
tapping at keyboards
booking flights and
gripping pens

In New York you can be a new man.

But in the North,
she is burnt sienna.

She is spiced apple cider and grist mills
she is quaint Edens made of maple syrup
& shrines to derelict dairy farms.

Feels like home to me
feels like home to me
feels like I’m all the way back- 

Leave a Reply

